Adobe Firefly vs Runway: What the Official Pages Settle (2026)
Adobe Firefly vs Runway on official pages only: Runway's free 125 one-time credits and per-second credit cost, Firefly's 30-plus model studio, and what neither page says.
Verdict: On the official pages checked for this post, Runway is the one with a clear starting cost: 125 one-time free credits and paid plans from $12 per month billed annually. Adobe Firefly is described as a studio with more than 30 AI models in one place, but its page does not list the price or the commercial terms needed to compare the two on cost or licensing.
Scorecard
Only what each vendor’s page states appears below, as checked on 2026-10-14. Empty cells mean the checked page is silent on that item, and nothing is filled in from elsewhere.
| field | Adobe Firefly | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| What the page describes | An all-in-one AI creative studio with 30-plus AI models (Adobe Firefly) | Image and video generation with Gen-4.5 and other models (Runway plan page) |
| Free allowance on the page | not stated | 125 credits, one time, no expiry (Runway plan page) |
| Entry price on the page | not stated | $12 per month billed annually, or $15 monthly (Runway plan page) |
| Cost per clip, per the page | not stated | Gen-4.5 is priced at 12 credits for each second (Runway plan page) |
| Commercial terms on the page | not stated | not stated on the pricing page |
Where Runway’s page is specific
The free start and the credit math. Runway’s free plan includes 125 credits that do not expire and 5GB of storage (Runway plan page). Its Standard plan gives 625 credits a month, and the page says that is 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 video (Runway plan page).
The page also says Standard and Pro credits do not roll over, while Max credits roll over for one month (Runway plan page). A team that plans its budget by month should read that line before choosing a plan.
Where Firefly’s page is general
The Firefly page describes the studio as a place to generate images, video, audio and more with more than 30 AI models in one place (Adobe Firefly). That is a description of range, not a price or a term. The page checked does not state a free allowance, a monthly price, or whether output may be used commercially.
That gap matters for a buyer. A range of models is useful, but a budget and a licence are the two fields that decide a purchase. Neither is on the page checked here.
What to do with the gap
Check Adobe’s current Firefly plan terms before you compare costs. Ask for the credit rate for video in writing, since the page does not give one. Test the same prompt on each tool, and count the usable clips, so the cost is measured per usable clip, not per attempt.
Limits of this post
It does not rank output quality. It does not say which tool produces better video, and it does not verify any Firefly commercial term. Both pages change, so re-check the figures on each live page first.
Reading the two pages side by side
Put the two pages next to each other and the difference is one of detail. Runway’s page gives a free allowance, a monthly price, a rollover rule and a per-second rate for its flagship model. Firefly’s page gives a range of models and a single line about a studio. A buyer comparing the two should not read the Firefly page as the absence of a price. It means the price was not on the page checked.
That is also why the Firefly row in the scorecard is blank rather than estimated. Filling the blank with a figure from another site would introduce a number this post cannot trace to its source, and the rules of this site do not allow that.
Context
Firefly sits #2 and Runway #3 on the 2026 list. The scoring rules and the evidence for each entry are on /methodology.
FAQ
Which one is easier to start with, Adobe Firefly or Runway?
Runway, on the evidence checked here. Its pricing page lists 125 one-time free credits that do not expire, and paid plans from $12 per month billed annually. The Adobe Firefly page checked describes a studio with more than 30 AI models in one place, but it does not list a price or a free allowance, so this page cannot compare the two on starting cost.
How much does a Runway clip cost in credits?
Runway's pricing page says Gen-4.5 uses 12 credits per second of generated video. A 625-credit Standard month therefore covers 52 seconds of that model. Check that per-second rate against the clip length you need.
Does this page say whether Firefly output is safe for commercial use?
No. The Firefly page checked here does not state a commercial-use or indemnity term, so this page makes no claim on that point. Read Adobe's own licensing terms for your plan before you use Firefly output in client work.